Seyi Shay And I… The Story Nobody Else Knows

image

I interviewed pop singer, Seyi Shay again last night (October 1, 2015) and after recording I had mentioned something about the company she first signed to as a fresh returnee looking to make waves in the music industry. I know somethings about that arrangement because while Seyi was there, I was there too.

First time I ever saw her, she was wearing a yellow dress, long legs, heels and all. She was the upcoming artiste the company was promoting… I was the one putting stuff on the website. Kind of a nobody if you consider the organogram. We didn’t even speak or anything.

Anyway, that was sometime in 2012.

Fast forward to the red carpet premiere of Hollywood movie, Captive at HOTR in 2015 and we are both chatting away and talking about how far we have come in our fields.

She has blossomed into one of Nigeria’s biggest female music stars and I’m certainly not anywhere near where I used to be.

Truth is, a lot of the things that seem so far away from us are actually not. The folks we see on TV are not so far off, because the tide can change at any time, without warning. One card can change the entire game.

Same thing about your goals and ambitions. The movers and shakers in the industry you are interested in… One thing can change everything for you.

One really cool thing about my job is it affords me the opportunity to meet AND INTERVIEW people that I NEVER imagined I would meet; talk less of anything else. For that, I’m grateful.

In all, keep in mind – things change.

Your story can change too.

One thought on “Seyi Shay And I… The Story Nobody Else Knows

Leave a comment